Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Professor (f/m) of Climate Change and Societal Impacts pursuant to § 98 of the University Act (UG)

Researchers and students at the University of Graz are shaping tomorrow’s world. We are addressing a broad spectrum of specialist issues and responding strategically to diverse social challenges. The University of Graz is also a place where achievement is rewarded, careers are planned, and social diversity is promoted – all within a modern, award-winning working environment. Our motto: We work for tomorrow. Join us!

The Wegener Center for Climate and Global Change of the University of Graz integrates climate, environmental, and socio-economic research. We contribute to the understanding of climate variability and change, from global to regional to local scales, as well as of social and economic drivers and impacts of climate and global change. We monitor, analyse and model the physical climate system as well as socio-economic processes. In promoting young scientists and in teaching we strengthen the multidisciplinary environmental system sciences and related fields like physics and economics.

 

The Wegener Center for Climate and Global Change at the Faculty of Environmental, Regional and Educational Sciences is seeking to appoint a

Professor (f/m) of Climate Change and Societal Impacts pursuant to § 98 of the University Act (UG)

(40 hours per week; permanent employment according to the Austrian Law on Salaried Employment (AngG); expected starting date March 1st 2020 )

We are looking to appoint a full Professor (f/m) who will form and lead a new research group "Climate Change and Societal Impacts“. This endowed chair and the new group will be part of the Wegener Center for Climate and Global Change and will be embedded in and benefit from the University´s interdisciplinary Field of Excellence “Climate Change and Sustainable Transformation”. As a group leader the professor will have the exciting opportunity to develop an innovative line of research related to the transformation to a low carbon and climate robust society. We expect research with a strong theoretical foundation. We also expect a strong interest in collaboration and knowledge exchange of research results with practitioners and stakeholders. We are seeking an outstanding scholar with a proven track record, preferably with a background in the social sciences (e.g., sociology, psychology, political science) who has experience in working with researchers in the natural sciences or engineering (e.g., geosciences, physical climate science, life sciences). Alternatively, we are open to receive applications from researchers with a background in natural sciences who have a proven record of working in the area of social sciences. We are looking for an internationally oriented, ambitious, yet collegial scholar who shares our dedication for climate change research and will contribute to Wegener Center´s collaborative research. The selected candidate has been successful in acquiring third-party funds as well as has experience in international research collaboration. He/she is expected to initiate and strongly engage in interdisciplinary research projects. The position includes teaching and supervision responsibilities and offers possibilities for developing innovative learning formats.

 

Requirements for employment

  • Completion of an appropriate university degree
  • Habilitation or equivalent qualification in social sciences or natural sciences as specified above
  • Excellent track record in research and teaching for the relevant subject (in relation to academic age)
  • Research on societally relevant challenges caused by climate change, especially on the transformation to a low carbon and climate robust economy and society, demonstrated by a strong publication record in leading international peer-reviewed journals
  • Collaboration in international and interdisciplinary research networks
  • Experience with the acquisition and administration of third-party research grants at the national or international level
  • Experience in teaching and with the supervision of bachelor's, master's, and doctoral theses/dissertations
  • Competence in leadership and gender mainstreaming

The candidate is expected to demonstrate his/her pedagogical and didactic skills. The successful candidate will teach particularly in the field of Environmental Systems Sciences in our bachelor's, master's, and doctoral programmes in German or English, and he or she is willing to contribute to the continuous improvement of our existing programmes and to the development of our doctoral programmes. 

 

Planned date and time of the interviews: 14.10.2019 to 15.10.2019

Classification

Salary scheme of the Universitäten-KV (University Collective Agreement): A1

Minimum salary

The minimum salary according to the classification scheme of the collective agreement is EUR 70.071,40 gross per year (14 monthly salaries). Salary subject to negotiation.

Application deadline: March 13th 2019
Reference number: BV/2/98 ex 2018/19

The University of Graz is striving to increase the number of women, particularly in executive positions, and thus explicitly encourages qualified women to apply. In case of equal qualifications, women will receive priority consideration.

If you are interested, please submit your application documents in English in accordance with the general as well as the specific (especially defined for this professorship) application guidelines (which can be found at http://jobs.uni-graz.at/en/Berufungsverfahren) before the deadline. Your application documents should include the reference number of the position and be sent by email to:

bewerbung.professur@uni-graz.at

Attachments

Allgemeine Anfragen

Personalressort
Halbärthgasse 88010 Graz
+43 (0)316 380 - 2150
+43 (0)316 380 - 9075

Bewerbungen

Personalressort
Halbärthgasse 88010 Graz
+43 (0)316 380 - 2150
+43 (0)316 380 - 9075

Travel costs

Travel costs that arise in relation with the selection process will not be replaced by the Karl-Franzens University of Graz.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Zusatzinformationen:


Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Professur für Klimawandel und Gesellschaftliche Folgen gem. § 98 UG

An der Universität Graz arbeiten ForscherInnen und Studierende in einem breiten fachlichen Spektrum an Lösungen für die Welt von morgen. Unsere WissenschafterInnen entwickeln Strategien, um den aktuellen Herausforderungen der Gesellschaft zu begegnen. Die Universität Graz bekennt sich zur Leistungsorientierung, fördert Karrierewege und bietet mehrfach ausgezeichnete Rahmenbedingungen für gesellschaftliche Diversität in einer zeitgemäßen Arbeitswelt – unter dem Motto: We work for tomorrow. Werden Sie Teil davon!

Das Wegener Center für Klima und Globalen Wandel der Universität Graz vereint Klima-, Umwelt-, Wirtschafts- und Gesellschaftsforschung. Wir tragen zum Verständnis von Klimavariabilität und Klimawandel auf globaler, regionaler und lokaler Ebene sowie von sozio-ökonomischen auslösenden Faktoren und Folgen des Klimawandels und globalen Wandels bei. Zu diesem Zweck beobachten, analysieren und modellieren wir das physikalische Klimasystem sowie sozio-ökonomische Prozesse. In der Nachwuchsförderung und Lehre stärken wir die fächerübergreifenden Umweltsystemwissenschaften und ihre beteiligten Fachbereiche wie Physik und Volkswirtschaftslehre.

 

Die Universität Graz besetzt am Wegener Center für Klima und Globalen Wandel der Umwelt-, Regional- und Bildungswissenschaftlichen Fakultät eine

Professur für Klimawandel und Gesellschaftliche Folgen gem. § 98 UG

(40 Stunden/Woche; unbefristetes Arbeitsverhältnis nach dem Angestelltengesetz; voraussichtlich zu besetzen ab 01. März 2020 )

Die Professur bietet die Möglichkeit eine neue Forschungsgruppe „Klimawandel und gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen“ aufzubauen und zu leiten. Professur und Forschungsgruppe werden am Wegener Center für Klima und globalen Wandel eingerichtet und sind eingebunden in und profitieren vom interdisziplinären Exzellenzfeld der Universität "Klimawandel und nachhaltige Transformation". Der/dem Professor/in bietet sich die attraktive Gelegenheit, als Forschungsgruppenleiter/in einen innovativen Forschungsstrang zur Transformation zu einer nahezu treibhausgas-emissionsfreien und klimarobusten Gesellschaft zu entwickeln und auszubauen. Wir erwarten Forschung, die auf einem starken theoretischen Fundament aufbaut sowie ein starkes Interesse an Zusammenarbeit und Wissensaustausch mit Praktikern und Stakeholdern zu den Forschungsergebnissen. Wir suchen eine/n herausragende/n Wissenschaftler/in mit ausgezeichnetem "track record", vorzugsweise mit einem Hintergrund in den Sozialwissenschaften (z.B. Soziologie, Psychologie, Politikwissenschaft), die/der Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit ForscherInnen in den Naturwissenschaften oder Ingenieurwissenschaften hat (z.B. Geowissenschaften, physikalische Klimawissenschaft, Life Sciences). Alternativ sind wir offen für Bewerbungen von ForscherInnen mit naturwissenschaftlichem Hintergrund, die signifikant auch sozialwissenschaftlich tätig waren und sind. Wir suchen eine/n international ausgerichtete/n, ambitionierte/n und kollegiale/n Wissenschaftler/in, die/der unser hohes Engagement für die Forschung zum Klimawandel teilt und zur gemeinsamen Forschung am Wegener Center beitragen wird. Die/der erfolgreiche Kandidat/in weist Erfahrung in der Drittmittelakquisition und in der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit auf. Es wird erwartet, dass er/sie interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte initiiert und sich in diesen stark engagiert. Die Stelle umfasst auch Lehr- und Betreuungsaufgaben und bietet Möglichkeiten für die Entwicklung neuer Lehr- und Lernformen.

 

Anstellungserfordernisse:

  • Eine der Verwendung entsprechende abgeschlossene inländische oder gleichwertige ausländische Hochschulbildung
  • Habilitation oder gleich zu wertende Qualifikation in einem der oben angesprochenen Felder
  • Hervorragende wissenschaftliche Qualifikation in Forschung und Lehre für das zu besetzende Fach (in Relation zum akademischen Alter)
  • Forschung zu gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen durch den Klimawandel, wie insbesondere zur Transformation zu einer nahezu treibhausgas-emissionsfreien und klimarobusten Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, nachgewiesen durch einschlägige Veröffentlichungen in führenden internationalen Fachzeitschriften mit Peer-Review
  • Zusammenarbeit in internationalen und interdisziplinären Forschungsnetzwerken
  • Erfahrung mit der Einwerbung und Durchführung von kompetitiven Drittmittelprojekten im nationalen oder internationalen Kontext
  • Erfahrung in der Lehre und mit der Betreuung von Bachelor-, Master- und Doktorarbeiten
  • Kompetenz in der Führung und im Gender Mainstreaming

Erwartet wird der Nachweis der pädagogisch-didaktischen Eignung. Die/der erfolgreiche Kandidat/in unterrichtet insbesondere im Bereich Umweltsystemwissenschaften in unseren Bachelor-, Master- und Doktorats-Programmen in deutscher oder englischer Sprache und trägt zur kontinuierlichen Verbesserung unserer bestehenden Programme und zur Entwicklung unseres Doktorats-Programms bei. 

 

Geplanter Zeitpunkt der Hearings ("Berufungsvorträge"): 14.10.2019 bis 15.10.2019

Einstufung

Gehaltsschema des Universitäten-KV: A1

Mindestgehalt

Das kollektivvertragliche Mindestentgelt gemäß der angegebenen Einstufung beträgt € 70.071,40 brutto/Jahr (14 Monatsgehälter). Ein allfälliges höheres Gehalt kann zum Gegenstand von Verhandlungen gemacht werden.

Ende der Bewerbungsfrist: 13. März 2019
Kennzahl: BV/2/98 ex 2018/19

Die Universität Graz strebt eine Erhöhung des Frauenanteils insbesondere in Leitungsfunktionen an und fordert daher qualifizierte Frauen ausdrücklich zur Bewerbung auf. Bei gleicher Qualifikation werden Frauen vorrangig aufgenommen.

Bei Interesse senden Sie bitte Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen in englischer Sprache unter Berücksichtigung der allgemeinen sowie der spezifischen (nur für diese Professur definierten) Bewerbungsbestimmungen – informieren Sie sich unter http://jobs.uni-graz.at/Berufungsverfahren – innerhalb der angegebenen Bewerbungsfrist unter Angabe der Kennzahl per E-Mail an:

bewerbung.professur@uni-graz.at

Anhänge

Allgemeine Anfragen

Personalressort
Halbärthgasse 88010 Graz
+43 (0)316 380 - 2150
+43 (0)316 380 - 9075

Bewerbungen

Personalressort
Halbärthgasse 88010 Graz
+43 (0)316 380 - 2150
+43 (0)316 380 - 9075

Reisekosten

Reisekosten, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Auswahlverfahren entstehen, werden von der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz nicht ersetzt.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Zusatzinformationen:


Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.